Monday, 14 March 2016

Know About Drainage System Of India

The river system of an area is called drainage and  total area that contributes water to a single drainage system is known as a drainage basin. India is a country where more than 4000 big and small rivers flow. As per the origin of these rivers, Indian rivers are divided into two categories.
1. Himalayan Rivers
2. Peninsular Rivers
Image result for Know About Drainage System Of India
Also read:- 

Himalayan Rivers
Most of the Himalayan Rivers are perennial. It means water flows throughout the year.
Indus, Jhelum,Chenab,Ravi,Beas,Satluj,,Ganga,Yamuna,Brahamputra

Peninsular Rivers
These rivers are broad, stable and flow through shallow valleys. Flow of water through these rivers depend upon rain, hence these rivers are seasonal.These rivers are further divided into two cetagories
West Flowing: Narmada, Tapti, Ghagghar, Luni, Sabarmati, Mahi.
East Flowing: Mahanadi, Godavari, Subarnarekha, Krishna, Kaveri, Pennar.


Some interesting Facts:
  • Indus river originates from Mansarovar in Tibet and called Sengge Khabab there.
  • Controversial Tulbul Project is located on Jhelum.
  • Longest irrigation canal i.e.Indira Gandhi Canal takes off from Harika barrage and runs up to Jaisalmer(Rajasthan).
  • Famous Bhakra Nangal Project also called as Govind Sagar Dam is located on Satluj river.
  • Ganga is the longest river of India with total length of 2510 km.
  • Famous Hirakund Project is located on Mahanadi.
  • Godavari is the longest Peninsular river of the India.

No comments:

Post a Comment